BearSportsNews Sunday Edition 05/31/2015

Bears Spring Successes

IAC trophy










  • Current Bears
    • Varsity baseball- wins the IAC regular season,
    • Varsity Golf- wins IAC regular season and tournament championships plus the Metro Championship. It was undefeated!!
    • Varsity Lacrosse–wins IAC regular and tournament championships plus the WaPo #1 ranking
    • Varsity Tennis wins regular season IAC title


  •  Alumni Bears
    • BLTF will be published soon
    • Landon alumnus selected as a Lacrosse Captain, the 52nd Bear to hold that honor
    • Landon alumnus picked to coach the North in the College Senior All Star Game
    • Landon Alumnus received prestigious trophy for his lacrosse career
    • Landon Alumni playing their last season of baseball are mentioned
    • Landon Alumni playing golf and tennis all have completed seasons.
    • Alumni track athletes have tournaments pending.
    • Results of the 2015 Jacoby Cup are reported


Varsity News

Varsity Baseball

Won IAC regular season.

Varsity Golf

The Landon Golf – from Coach Federowicz–

Landon won the Metro Championships at PB Dye Golf Club in Ijamsville, Md! The win is Landon’s first Metro Championship since 2000! The two top teams in the WCAC and IAC competed in very hot, sunny, and humid conditions. Results are as follows:

Team competition:

  1. Landon 370
  2. Gonzaga 401
  3. Good Counsel 423
  4. Episcopal 437

Landon had six of the top seven scores!!!

Medalist: Mike Blasey (Landon) 70

2nd place: tie at 74

Jeff Samit (Landon)

Teddy Zinsner (Gonzaga)

The next low scores all belonged to Landon!

75 – John Kalavritinos

75 – Evan Katz

76 – Morgan Egloff

77 – West Shaw

Very much a team effort.










Varsity Lacrosse

The Bears won the IAC regular season and the IAC tournament. The team’s national rankings are very close as measured by the four major polls:

  • Nike/LM        T#3               (5/29)
  • LaxPower CCR #3               (5/29)
  • Ty Zanders #4               (5/20)
  • IL/UA #4               (wk12)

Individual honors are beginning to be announced

Montgomery Gazette

First Team

Andrew Fowler   D

                   Colton Rupp       A

                   Hunter Sells        G

Second Team

Nate Buller            A

Honorable Mention

Landon McKenzie D


Hunter Sells                 Goalie                 

Colton Rupp                  Attack                 

Nate Buller                    Attack                 

Andrew Fowler             Defense   

Landon McKenzie       Defense     

Congratulations to Colton who earned All IAC in Football, Hockey and Lacrosse—That’s A Bear!!!


Alumni News


Keena selected as 2nd Bear to lead USNA lacrosse team

Patrick Keena L’11 was selected to lead the Middies for the 2016 lacrosse season. He led the Navy team in total points with 36 (14G, 22A) (as a Bear, he is the all-time point leader).

Patrick follows fellow Bear Matt Morrison L’09 who was the 2014 USNA lacrosse captain.








UVM Coach/Bear leads North in All Star Game

University of Vermont men’s lacrosse head coach Ryan Curtis L’96, coached of Division I/II North Team for the 74th United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association /LaxWorld North-South Senior All-Star Game. The South won 23-15Curtis, the 2015 America East Coach of the Year, guided the Catamounts to a program-best third-place finish in America East.

Murphy receives one of Princeton’s Lacrosse Awards

Though Justin Murphy L’11 was sidelined his senior year, the Princeton coaches selected him for the John T. Schroeder Class of 1992 Award. Its selection criteria sound like Justin—“the embodiment of character and selfless devotion to the team has had the greatest impact on the success of Princeton men’s lacrosse.” In 2014 Brian Reilly received the same honor.

Bear Track Trax 

Mac Hightower, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, the Stags came in T 56 at NCAA Div. III yet to come.

Deion Wellington, Coastal Carolina, has the NCAA’s in June 

Jordan Marshall (2014), Davidson Wildcats, the team is at the NCAA regionals this weekend. No results posted yet.

Bear Diamond Trax








Hope that no one was missed!!


2015 Jacoby Cup Results

From Patrick Guarnieri ’00


The tournament played in honor of Mac Jacoby, as we celebrate 60 years (!!) of his service to the school.  We had great weather, a strong showing of alumni, parents, spectators, and some great tennis capped off by a lacrosse victory over that other school on Rockville Pike.


Congratulations to winners Matt Coursen ’99 and senior Seth McNair ’15 who defeated George Hill ’70 and senior Gabe Goldberg ’15 in the finals.  Please see attached pictures of finalists & all Jacoby Cup participants (thank you Lowell Davis).


We sincerely hope you all enjoyed and will join us again next year.  Thanks for your support, and as always…Go Bears!



Patrick Guarnieri ’00



PS – Know anyone else interested in Landon tennis or Jacoby Cup?  Respond with their email address and I will be sure to add them to the distribution list for next year.

Published in: on May 31, 2015 at 11:29 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: