Senior Profile, Coach Profile and PJReview

SENIOR PROFILE

 

OBAI KAMARA, SENIOR, #55, OT

 

 

1. When did you start playing football?

          I started playing football in 6th grade when I came to Landon.

 

2. What is your time in the 40 yd. dash and what’s your best bench weight?

          My fastest 40 is a 5.1 and my best bench weight is 235.

 

3.What is your favorite college football team and college football player?

          My favorite football team is the Texas longhorns and my favorite player is  De’Anthony Thomas because he is so exciting to watch.

 

4. What is your favorite moment during any Landon sports event in which you played?

          Although I have had many memorable moments playing sports at Landon, my favorite was when jv football beat prep. After that game we kept talking about  how we “got that cup” (referring to the Davis Fagan cup) even though its only for  the winner of the varsity game.

 

5. What is your favorite course at Landon?

          Hero Myth

 

6. What is your favorite non-sports related activity (community work, art/music, paper, debate, poem, extracurricular activity, etc.)?

          Spending time with my younger brothers.

    

7. What is your nickname (if any) and how did you get it?

         

          Obizzle, O-Train, O.B.hams, and most recently old bay. My friends gave me the name obizzle in 6th grade because they were obsessed with saying forshizzle. In  9th grade coach Derwinski gave me the name O-Train one day during freshman football but I can’t remember why. The last two are more recent. I don’t know why but Will Murty calls me O.B. hams, and this week Bucky and Jackson started calling me old bay. I asked them why and they said because           I’m spicy…

 

8. Describe yourself in 3 words? How would your parents describe you in 3 words?

         

          I don’t know so I asked my little brother Malik. He said, “good at things.” My parents would say I am bright, hardworking, and modest.

========================================================================================================================================================

 

COACH PROFILE

 ==========================================================================================================================================

CONOR CASSIDY, 2006, SCIENCE TEACHER, FOOTBALL COACH

1.     What year did you start playing football?

 

I started playing football for Landon in the sixth grade. I was a member of the Wolfpack in the NCAA division.

 

2.What was your time in the 40 yd. dash and what’s your best bench weight?

 

My best 40 was a little faster than Pena’s, a little slower than Fullum’s. My best bench beats Mitchell’s by 10 lbs.

 

3.     What was your college football team and college football player?

 

I am a diehard Seminoles fan.  My favorite player was Peter Warrick. On this year’s team I like Chris Thompson

 

4.     What is your favorite moment during any college or your high school sports event in which you played?

 

My favorite football moment was my senior year at Landon beating STA on the road in OT to win the IAC. (above picture)

 

5.     What is your favorite course at Landon?

 

Introduction to Earth and Environmental Science.

 

6. What is your favorite non-sports related activity (community work, art/music, paper, debate, poem, extracurricular activity, etc.)?

 

I love spending time outside, especially on the water.

 

7.     What is your nickname (if any) and how did you get it?

 

I have no nickname around Landon, though Coach Bordley called me James (my older brother’s name) for most of my first year on varsity.

 

8.     Describe yourself in 3 words? How would your family/children describe you in 3 words?

 

Proud Landon Bear.  My family would say “cranky when hungry.”

 

9.     What’s on your iPod?

 

Bruce Springsteen and Pearl Jam/ Eddie Vedder

 

10. Tell me something interesting about you which neither the coaches nor the  players are likely to know.

 

My college nickname was CCs, or some variation thereof. Not sure I love it

 

 =====================================================================================================================================

 

PJReview

 

 

 

After a great win against a west coast passing style Collegiate team and a well rested bye week the Bears open up IAC play against the Episcopal Maroon. The Maroon are coming into this game 2-1. It is also their first IAC game as well. So this game opening up IAC play should be a good one.

 

 

 

On offense Episcopal runs a no-huddle offense and are very fast paced. They’re offensive line is a veteran group but also somewhat undersized. They are very athletic in the backfield though. EHS is led by running back Nigel Beckford and quarterback Timmy Phillips. Phillips is sophomore who has already committed to play lacrosse at Notre Dame. He is a very athletic quarterback and is not afraid to run the football or throw it. Beckford on the other hand is a great football player. Standing at 5’7”, Beckford has received interest from schools like Rice, Purdue, and Ole Miss. He is very quick and has great speed. The defense will need to contain this no huddle offense along with Phillips and Beckford to win their first IAC match up.

 

 

 

On the defensive side of the ball Episcopal runs a 4-3 defense. On the defensive line they are pretty good. Their nose tackle Thomas Thagard is probably the Maroons best defensive player. He’s quick, strong, and a little undersized. The Maroons linebackers are all two-way players, Beckford is also part of that linebacker group and will blitz often. The Maroon secondary is good, but does not have a player that really stands out.

 

 

 

I think if the Bear offensive line controls the Maroon defensive line and our backs should do well against the Maroon defense.

 

 

 

 

 

Published in: on October 4, 2012 at 11:55 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bearsportsnews.wordpress.com/2012/10/04/senior-profile-coach-profile-and-pjreview/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

