TWO TIGER TALES—2 COACHES’ PROFILES

Two coaches profiles, both of whom played their college ball as TIGERS.

Mr. Armstrong, Assistant Football Coach, Head of Lower School, Acting Director of Diversity and Community

  1. What year did you start playing football?

 

I started playing football at seven years of age.  I have a November birthday and started school early, so I started other things early as well.

 

2.  What was your time in the 40 yd. dash and what’s your best bench weight? 

 

I ran a 4.4/4.5…all I know is that I never got ran down or caught from behind.  I did not spend much time in the weight room, which is the main reason (my story and I sticking to it) I went division III and not higher…

 

3. What was your college football team and college football player? 

 

Texas Longhorns with the Tyler Rose – Earl Campbell

4. What is your favorite moment during any college or your high school sports event in which you played?

My college, Hampden-Sydney College, beat our rivals, Randolph Macon College, in the 100th game played by the two schools.

[EDITOR’S NOTE: Coach Bordley (see below) played in the 100th Anniversary of the 1st college football game.]

 

5. What is your favorite course at Landon?

 

I really enjoyed teaching Modern World History during my first stint at Landon.

6.What is your favorite non-sports related activity (community work, art/music, paper, debate, poem, extracurricular activity, etc.)? 

            Community work for sure…I always want to remain active as a mentor to young people.

7. What is your nickname (if any) and how did you get it?

 

Len…I guess my friends wanted to shorten Leonard.

 

8. Describe yourself in 3 words?

Hardworking, competitive, yet compassionate.

 

9. What’s on your iPod?

 

Everything from Kinderszenen, Op. 15 to Ice Cube.

 

10. Tell me something interesting about you which neither the coaches nor the players are likely to know. 

 

 My junior year of college at little division III Hampden-Sydney, I was invited to the NFL scouting combine because I finished in the top 10 in the nation at all levels in average yardage per kickoff returns.  I chose not to attend and I did not play football as a senior in college.

 

 

Mr. Bordley, Offensive Coordinator/Football, Head Coach/Lacrosse, Landon, 1966 (17 Varsity Letters)

                                                                               

                                                                               

1. What year did you start playing football?

Third Grade, 1955

 

  1. What was your time in the 40 yd. dash and what’s your best bench weight?                                                                                                                                                                                                            US Rugby Team picture

4.7

 

3. What was your college football team and college football player?

     Princeton

4. What is your favorite moment during any college or your high school sports event in which you played?

     Winning the Ivy League title by beating Dartmouth in our final game (1969)

5. What is your favorite course at Landon?

     Mr. Dixon’s English

6. What is your favorite non-sports related activity (community work, art/music, paper, debate, poem, extracurricular activity, etc.)?

 

     I enjoy gardening and going to antique stores

 

7. Describe yourself in 3 words?

 

        Intense, funny, hard working

Published in: on September 20, 2012 at 4:04 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bearsportsnews.wordpress.com/2012/09/20/two-tiger-tales-2-coaches-profiles/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

