3 more Profiles of members of the Class of 2011 who lettered in 3 Varsity Sports this year

PEARCE MINSHALL varsity Football, Hockey and Lacrosse


1.  senior project
working for my dad 
in commercial real estate

2.  best academic experience
the humanities 
course we took as juniors

3.  best Landon non-sports, non-academic 
experience

Anytime im hanging out with my friends
4.  best moment in a Landon jersey
winning state 
championship in hockey
5.  college next year
Boston College
6.  sport(s) 
there
to be determined.
7.  sport to sport most difficult transition- what 
change from one sport to another disrupts your body, schedule or head the 
most
hockey to lacrosse is the hardest just making the transition from skates 
to feet.
8.    opponent that you want to beat the most in what sport
·    
    individual and/or
·        team
gonzaga and prep. any time we play 
those guys I do not want to lose.

9.          most exhausting practice 
regime among your sports
football, those practices can seem all day 
especially with two a days.

10.most demanding coach-- learned the most
Coach Bordley just having him in two sports has taught me 
the most about football and lacrosse as well as life lessons for later in 
life.

11. most demanding teacher from whom you learned the most    

Mr. Mora was probably the hardest teacher I had at landon, maybe Ms. Lamont 
also, Spanish is a tough subject for me.
Mr. Mora was probably the hardest teacher I had at landon, maybe Ms. Lamont also, Spanish is  a tough subject for me. 12.hours spent on academic and athletic matters at Landon during a typical in season day 2 hours of homework a day, most of that done during study halls and lunch during the day.Athletic--too much to calculate between off season workouts and such 13.how many varsity letters will you have on graduation 7 varsity letters 14.funniest moment on a Landon field, court, rink, pool, track (including XC) or golf course it was pretty interesting having Mark Kovler as a lacrosse coach this spring, he brought a lot of humor to the field. 15 interesting outside activity I enjoy going on boats and plan on spending a lot of time on one before I head of to Chestnut Hill MA next year ================================================================================================================================================================

=========================================================== ALEX SELOWSKY varsity football, rugby, swimming and track and field

1.  senior project

I’m making a documentary about homelessness in Montgomery
County with Ryan Dougherty.

2. Best Academic experience

My best academic experience was taking Mr. Mora’s senior
english seminar about apocalyptic events and postmodernism.

3.  best Landon non-sports, non-academic experience

co-directing a one-act play with Ben Spiritos this winter.

4.  best moment in a Landon jersey

Beating Georgetown Prep 20-14 this football season to win
back the Davis-Fegan Cup.

5.  college next year

Stanford University

6.  sport(s) there

I'll be playing rugby at Stanford.

7.  sport to sport most difficult transition- what change from one sport to another disrupts your
body, schedule or head the most

Transitioning from football to swimming was pretty hard.
I had to switch from afternoon practice to 6 AM practice, get used to a cold
pool, and I was always in terrible shape for swimming when the season started.

8.    opponent that you want to beat the most in what sport-  individualand/or  team

I always want to beat St. Albans in football.

9.  most exhausting practice regime among your sports

Two-a-days during football preseason was by far the most tiring practice regime.

10.  most demanding coach–learned the most

I learned the most from Coach Klingelhoefer by lifting
with him during the summer and playing o-line for him during football season.
He taught me a lot about competitive drive and how to push myself past my
limits.

11. most demanding teacher  gtom whom you learned the most

Dr. Richard Brockhaus

12. hours spent on academic and athletic matters at Landon during a typical in season day

Seven hours on academics including the school day, two hours on athletics.

13.  how many varsity letters will you have on graduation

9 letters

14. funniest moment on a Landon field, court, rink, pool, track (including XC) or golf course

During a football practice this year, Coach Padalino performed a detailed reenactment of Dillon Rupp getting pancaked during a
football game.

15. interesting outside activity

I really enjoy film. I’ve made a few movies in school and I’ve also done a few programs outside of school on filmmaking and film history.

=========================================================================================================================================================

Ryan Dougherty  varsity   Cross Country, Swimming, Track

1.      senior project

Alex Selowsky and I are making a documentary on the homelessness situation in Montgomery County.

2.   best academic experience                                                                                                                                                                                                    I enjoyed my Economics and Justice classes this year, and learned a lot in them. I also had fun in my film class.

3.   best Landon non-sports, non-academic experience

I really enjoyed painting at Landon. I did it for four years and had a a great experience with Mr. Bartman.

4.   best moment in a Landon jersey     

Beating Russell Hornsby, the top 800m of all time in Montgomery County, in cross country was a nice accomplishment. Beating St. Albans in swimming was also nice.

5.   college next year

Davidson

6.   sport(s) there

None

7.   sport to sport most difficult transition- what change from one sport to another disrupts your body, schedule or head the most

The transition from swimming to track is very difficult. After swimming, it is difficult to compete with runners who have been running competitively all winter.

8.    opponent that you want to beat the most in what sport

  • ·         individual and/or
  • ·         team

St. Albans. They have dominated distance running for so long I wish we could have gotten them just once.

9.most exhausting practice regime among your sports

One day my freshman year during two-a-days for cross country, Tre Johnson had us do a very tough hill and core workout, coined “Tre Hills”, during the morning, then in the afternoon I ran my first high school race.

  1. 10.  most demanding coach– learned the most

All my coaches have taught me a lot and have helped me advance my athletic career. I am extremely grateful to Coach Hunt and Coach Bartman for everything they have helped me out with both on and off the field.

 

11. most demanding teacher from whom you learned the most

I would have to say Mr. Atwell. He was an incredible teacher, and he really demanded a lot out of me in his class. I struggled  in his class initially, but as his student and advisee he pushed me to do the best I could do in that class

 

12. hours spent on academic and athletic matters at Landon during a typical in season day

12 hours

 

13.how many varsity letters will you have on graduation

12

 

14. funniest moment on a Landon field, court, rink, pool, track (including XC) or golf course

Looking back on it the constant arguments Jack and I had during cross country.

 

15.  interesting outside activity

Politics. I interned with a congressman last year, and I make sure to keep up with what’s going on on the hill.

Published in: on May 21, 2011 at 2:49 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bearsportsnews.wordpress.com/2011/05/21/3-more-profiles-of-members-of-the-class-of-2011-who-lettered-in-3-varsity-sports-this-year/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

